Mind Mapping and the iPad

Since there’s nothing yet on AutoCAD for Mac or AutoCAD WS, I thought I’d share some of my experiences with my new toy productivity device – the iPad.

I don’t know about the rest of you, but I find a mind mapping program an invaluable tool. I can scribble all my thoughts down and turn chaos into organization. This is especially important in preparing for my class at Autodesk University 2010 (CV327-3).

I use the social networks as a sounding board and I made the inquiry about available mind mapping apps just for the iPad. I didn’t want one that was just a glorified iPhone/iPad app, but one that was made just for the iPad. Why not an app that is for iPod? Screen resolution. So, I made the inquiry on Facebook and my cousin responded that her way to collect her thoughts is to mediate. Well in a way, mind mapping is meditation to me. I can climb into my brain and extract those thoughts out onto pixels and organize them so they make sense. Yes, I could have used a good old paper and pencil, but I am a geek and have to live up to those standards! πŸ™‚

For those who have absolutely no clue what mind mapping is, here is a link to explain it.

So what app did I settle on? I’m *really* sold on iThoughtsHD. It offers a lot of options and exporting options too. Rather than go through all the features here, I though I’d just point you to the youtube video. Note that this is for a slightly older version but the process is the same.

I sort of wished that I would have mind mapped the writing process for Mastering AutoCAD for Mac because in hindsight, there’s a lot of things I could have done differently that would have saved time especially at this phase of the game. Oh well, there will be other opportunities to do this. πŸ˜‰

Here is my Autodesk University class mind map after 10 minutes of thinking and typing in. This will grow in size.

It costs $7.99 at the app store and I’m happy I bought it and will use it to its full potential. Standard disclaimers apply (I’m not affiliated with the company, etc. etc.)

Comments are closed.

