Quick Tip: Finding new commands

I’m not sure how many people realize this tip has been around for some time (and I would surmise that it will be carried over into AutoCAD for Mac), but the TAB key is your best friend for finding commands in AutoCAD.

If you are looking for that command that you rarely use and its not on the menu, but know that it begins with MESH, Just do the following:

  1. Type MESH at the command prompt but don’t press Enter yet.
  2. Press the TAB key.
  3. You se that MESH is now in all caps at your command prompt.
  4. Press TAB again.
  5. Now you see that MESHCAP is in all caps.
  6. Continue pressing the TAB key and it will cycle through all the AutoCAD commands that begin with MESH.

Hope this will help you.

I do this every time a new release comes out and if I see a command that I’m not familiar with, I’ll explore it bit further.

One Response to “Quick Tip: Finding new commands”

  1. What a nice post. I really love reading these types or articles. I can?t wait to see what others have to say.

Comments are closed.

