It is time to start

Welcome to my first post.
I want to thank Rick, which has invited me in this blog that I became the co-author.
This is an important moment for me! This is the first blog post I’ve ever written. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for a long time, but wasn’t sure how to do it, where, when, or even if. And finally, now here I am.

A few words about myself. My main work – the lead architect in the firm, which designs the restoration of architectural monuments. On the nature of my work, I closely associated with computers. I started in 1993 on the PC – AutoCAD r.12 for DOS, and now I am on MAC (since 2007).
Appearance of AutoCAD for MAC became for me long-awaited event. As a participant of the beta testing (and simply as software user), I fully agree with the terms that are expressed in the Rick’s post “In Defense of AutoCAD for Mac”.
So, whatever they did not say – we already have running AutoCAD on a Mac. And as one of my main objectives, I see the need to share experiences and knowledge that I have (or acquire in future) on work in AutoCAD for MAC.
Another area of focus is likely to be MAC OS itself, as operating system (maybe some tips and tricks?).
I have not yet finally determined to form of my posts and hope that your comments and appeals to me could help me with this.

Anyway, your feedback is appreciated and encouraged.

I think that’s enough for now. I’ll try to do this once a week or so.

But wait, I can begin.

Quick Tip.

If the size of .DWG file is a critical moment for you in AutoCAD for MAC, you can set a system variable ISAVEPERCENT to “0” (zero). This variable determines the amount of wasted space tolerated in a drawing file. The greater its value, the faster the file size grows, due to the fact that the new data appended to the file in addition, so long as file size (as a percentage of the total size of the file) does not exceed the value specified in the variable ISAVEPERCENT. After that the next save will be a full save and file size is reduced. By default, the variable is 50, so the file size may be at some time one and a half times bigger than real size. If ISAVEPERCENT set to “0”, the file size will always be minimal.

In AutoCAD for MAC this variable can be set only at the command prompt – type ISAVEPERCENT, press Return, type 0, press Return.

Now your files are always on a diet.

Comments are closed.

