Group Tools for AutoCAD for Mac

Let’s talk today about Groups in AutoCAD as a method of combining objects together in your drawings.

A group is a saved set of objects that you can select and edit together or separately as needed. Groups provide an easy way to combine drawing elements that you need to manipulate as a unit.

In some ways, groups resemble blocks, which provide another method of combining objects into a named set. For example, groups are saved from session to session. However, you can edit individual objects in groups more easily than you can edit them in blocks, which must be exploded first.

Everything is just wonderful. But in fact, unlike in AutoCAD for Windows in the current version of AutoCAD for Mac working with groups is much difficult due the lack of dialog interface (a kind of group manager).

For example, In order to explode a group you need to know the name of the group. When using GROUP command (command line version) in AutoCAD for Mac, you can find the names of groups that exists in the drawing. But how do you find them? If you do not know the name of the group, you will not be able to add items to this group or delete the objects that belongs to this group. And what about the unnamed groups, which are formed by copying the existing named groups? Their names do not appear within the existing command GROUP at all. So we have more questions than answers.

I want to present to you a set of tools for working with groups that allow you to remove most of the problems and feel free to use groups in your daily work. Once you load (eg by command Tools-> Load Application …) AutoLISP file Grouptools.lsp, you will get the following set of commands:

CGR – Creates an unnamed group (you do not even need to worry about the name of the group, simply select the objects on the screen)
EGR – Explodes any type of group (just select existing named or unnamed group in drawing)
ADDGR – adds object(s) to group (select group by picking on it and add any number new objects to it)
REMGR – removes object(s) from group (select group by picking on it and remove any number new objects from it)

According to your desire, you can add these commands in the Tool Sets Palette:

or even to context menu that appears when you have a pre-selection and right-click on it (this is more complex and undocumented, feel free to ask me how-to):

You can download Group Tools here. Unzip, put somewhere in your home folder and Appload it in AutoCAD.

This AutoLISP routine was developed originally by Sergey Puroshev and adopted by me for AutoCAD fo Mac.

Happy Grouping!

7 Responses to “Group Tools for AutoCAD for Mac”

  1. I must show some appreciation to this writer for rescuing me from such a instance. As a result of searching through the online world and obtaining ideas which are not powerful, I believed my life was over. Existing minus the strategies to the issues you have resolved all through this short article is a serious case, and the kind which may have badly affected my career if I hadn’t noticed your web page. Your own personal ability and kindness in dealing with every item was vital. I’m not sure what I would have done if I hadn’t discovered such a point like this. I can also at this point relish my future. Thanks a lot very much for this professional and amazing help. I will not think twice to propose your site to any person who will need guidance about this issue.

  2. Wohh exactly what I was looking for, thankyou for posting .

  3. I follow your posts on the AutoCAD for MAC discussion groups. The depth of knowledge and the clarity with which you convey it is astounding. Please add me to your e-mail list. Thank you!

  4. Amazing article. I was checking constantly this blog and I am quite impressed! Extremely helpful information specifically the first part. I care for such info much. I was seeking this particular info for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  5. maximka2010 Says:

    Thanks for your comments!
    I try to do my best.

    Maxim

  6. thanks. subscribing.

  7. I like this post, enjoyed this one regards for posting .

Comments are closed.

